Hours at Disaster Recovery Centers in Howard, Jefferson Counties to Change


NORTH LITTLE ROCK – July 21, 2015 – (RealEstateRama) — Hours at the disaster recovery centers in Howard and Jefferson counties will change beginning Monday, July 20. The centers provide help to those whose homes or businesses were affected by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding during the period of May 7 to June 15, 2015.

Starting Monday, hours are from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, and Saturday from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Closed Sundays.

Representatives from the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the U.S. Small Business Administration and other agencies are at the centers to explain disaster assistance programs and help survivors apply for aid.

The disaster recovery centers are located at the following addresses:

Howard County

Carter Day Training Center

200 Lake Nichols Drive

Nashville, AR 71852

Jefferson County

Pine Bluff Convention Center

(Entrance D)

500 East 8th Ave

Pine Bluff, AR 71601

Those seeking disaster assistance should register with FEMA before going to a disaster recovery center. Individuals and families who suffered losses as a result of the late spring storms may register online at www.disasterassistance.gov or those without access to the internet, can call FEMA’s toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

Each disaster recovery center has assistive technologies for people with disabilities. ASL interpreters are available at the DRCs by appointment by calling 870-451-9241.

Anyone who sustained damage in Crawford, Garland, Howard, Jefferson, Little River, Miller, Perry, Sebastian or Sevier counties designated for federal disaster assistance can visit any disaster recovery center.

Federal disaster assistance for individuals and families can include money for rental assistance, essential home repairs, personal property loss and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance.

Low-interest disaster loans from the Small Business Administration (SBA) are available to help with residential and business losses not covered by insurance. The SBA is the federal government’s primary source of money for the rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private non-profit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property.

For more information on SBA programs, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955, emailing disastercustomerservice (at) sba (dot) gov, or visiting SBA’s website at www.sba.gov/disaster. Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call (800) 877-8339.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


On March 1, 2003, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS). The primary mission of the Federal Emergency Management Agency is to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the Nation from all hazards, including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters, by leading and supporting the Nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation


1 (800) 621-FEMA (3362)

Previous articleArkansas Delegation Introduces APPROVAL Act in House
Next articleFEMA Offers Resources for Property Owners Rebuilding After Disaster