Mobile Disaster Recovery Centers Open in Jackson, Little River Counties


NORTH LITTLE ROCK – (RealEstateRama) — Joint federal/state disaster recovery centers will open Tuesday, March 1, 2016, in Jackson and Little River counties to help those whose homes or businesses were affected by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding Dec. 26, 2015 – Jan. 22, 2016.

Representatives from the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the U.S. Small Business Administration and other agencies will be at the centers to explain disaster assistance programs and help survivors apply for aid. Those visiting the centers can talk to experts on ways to prevent future disaster damage and take home free publications on mitigation topics.

These mobile, temporary centers are located:

Jackson County
Newport Economic Development Corp.
201 Hazel St.
Newport, AR 72112

Little River County
Little River County Courthouse
392 Country Club Road
Winthrope, AR 71866

Hours at the centers are from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturdays and from 10 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on Sundays until further notice.

Those seeking disaster assistance should register with FEMA before going to a recovery center. To do so:

    • Call 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for individuals with a speech disability, are deaf or hard-of-hearing. If you use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.


The toll free lines operate from 7 10 p.m. local time, seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.

Each disaster recovery center has assistive technologies for people with disabilities. ASL interpreters are available at the DRCs by calling 1-800-621-3362.

Disaster aid for individuals and families can include money for rental assistance, essential home repairs, personal property loss and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance.

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are available to help with residential and business losses not covered by insurance. The SBA is the federal government’s primary source of money for the rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private non-profit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. Applying for these loans is also a way to qualify for other avenues of assistance.

For more information on SBA programs, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955, emailing  disastercustomerservice (at) sba (dot) gov, or visiting SBA’s website at Individuals with a speech disability, are deaf or hard-of-hearing, may call TTY (800) 877-8339.

Federal disaster assistance is available to eligible residents of Benton, Carroll, Crawford, Faulkner, Jackson, Jefferson, Lee, Little River, Perry, Sebastian and Sevier counties.

Disaster recovery centers are also open in Carroll, Crawford, Faulkner and Jefferson counties. The address of each center can be found at .   Those affected by the storms may visit any center.

# # #

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards.


On March 1, 2003, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS). The primary mission of the Federal Emergency Management Agency is to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the Nation from all hazards, including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters, by leading and supporting the Nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation


1 (800) 621-FEMA (3362)

Previous articleHill Introduces Bill To Preserve Financing Options for Commercial Real Estate
Next articleDisaster Recovery Center Open in Jackson County